Romance Lovers for the Challenge-Impaired discussion

146 views

Comments Showing 101-150 of 163 (163 new)    post a comment »

message 101: by ShoSho , Moderator (new)

ShoSho  (shoshost) | 12263 comments You don't bank books by letters ,just the book.
You can use it regardless of who has read it or what letter they originally read it for.


message 102: by Christina T (new)

Christina T (crysteena73) | 164 comments No not really. I'm confused on the new banked book rule. Let's use the example of Shadow's Claim. Our goal was Titles this week and we had an S tile. So I read Shadow's Claim. We decided not to use it and we banked it. The tile itself is only worth 1 point as an S. In week 3 our team reads Author and to make a kickbutt word we could use a K. The banked book can be used as a K because the author is Kresley. Now is the tile worth 5 points because we are using the banked book as a K and not an S...even though it was read for the S which is only worth 1 point.

Am I sounding like a crazy person? LOL.


message 103: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments No, not crazy, Chistina. But you have to first get a "K" tile to be able to use it in a word. ...And that, my friend, is totally random.


message 104: by Christina T (last edited Aug 12, 2014 12:25AM) (new)

Christina T (crysteena73) | 164 comments OMGosh I get it now....my light-bulb just came on. If we bank a book we still have to have a tile to correlate with the book to use it. However, with the cupcake letters we purchased them and can just use them once purchased with no book needed. Do I have that right now?

Edited to say....No no no that still isn't right. Even with cupcakes we need to read a book. LOL. We always have to read a book!!!! now am I right? LMAO


message 105: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments As ShoSho said above, you are "banking" the book, not the tile/letter.

Just to clarify, Christina: Whatever tile/letter you use to spell a future word, in connection with any "banked" book, will be worth the points of that tile.


message 106: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments Christina wrote: "OMGosh I get it now....my light-bulb just came on. If we bank a book we still have to have a tile to correlate with the book to use it. However, with the cupcake letters we purchased them and can just use them once purchased with no book needed. Do I have that right now?"

You just about have it right. You understand the "banked" books now. Yay!

However, with the cashed-in cupcakes and tiles/letters, you'll have to read a book to go along with them. A future book, not one that was read to cover it when your Team first received it.

Got it now?


message 107: by Christina T (new)

Christina T (crysteena73) | 164 comments Maybe I should just go to sleep at 2:30AM instead of contemplating the universe and Book Scrabble.


message 108: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments Christina wrote: "Maybe I should just go to sleep at 2:30AM instead of contemplating the universe and Book Scrabble."

FOFLMBO! .... Uh.... Maybe.


message 109: by Christina T (new)

Christina T (crysteena73) | 164 comments We carried over a K with cupcakes but we still have to read the K to use it. Got it!


message 110: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments Christina wrote: "We carried over a K with cupcakes but we still have to read the K to use it. Got it!"

Yay! Got it.


message 111: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments I'm still laughing. Thanks for that.


message 112: by btwthesepages (new)

btwthesepages | 43 comments @Cristina: And one more thing. You should also match the category. For example if you have K on your weekly rack and you are reading Author's names for that week then you can use the book you mentioned. But if you are reading Character names then you can't use K because it's an Author's name.


message 113: by btwthesepages (new)

btwthesepages | 43 comments Thanks for answering my question Scrabble Queen!


message 114: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (last edited Aug 12, 2014 12:34AM) (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments Arshiya wrote: "@Cristina: And one more thing. You should also match the category. For example if you have K on your weekly rack and you are reading Author's names for that week then you can use the book you mentioned. But if you are reading Character names then you can't use K because it's an Author's name."

True. Unless we do some evil thing with cupcakes. Remember:
• However, there might be an exception to this last rule, in exchange for puzzles completed.
Which is doubtful... :o)


message 115: by Christina T (new)

Christina T (crysteena73) | 164 comments Arshiya wrote: "@Cristina: And one more thing. You should also match the category. For example if you have K on your weekly rack and you are reading Author's names for that week then you can use the book you menti..."

Got it Arshiya...this is where the team strategy comes in. We wouldn't want to spend cupcakes on a letter and not be able to use it.


message 116: by btwthesepages (new)

btwthesepages | 43 comments @Cristina: Yeah. Lot of things to keep in mind while playing :O


message 117: by Bethany (new)

Bethany  | 83 comments Quick question,
Can a team use all their available letters on the Tile Rack, including the carry over ones, for one word?


message 118: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments Bethany wrote: "Can a team use all their available letters on the Tile Rack, including the carry over ones, for one word?"

Only one book per Team Member per week may be used; therefore, one tile/letter per Team Member. Unless, of course, your Team is withdrawing from the bank (which is an unused book read in a previous week).


message 119: by Bethany (new)

Bethany  | 83 comments oh blah, Okay thanks SQueen!


message 120: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments Sure, Bethany.


message 121: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments WEEK #3 RACK

Your Week #3 Rack is posted in your Weekly Tiles on Your Rack threads. Your “carry over” tiles/letters and “banked” books will be updated after play on Saturday; either late Sunday or early Monday.


Turtlecollector Dennis | 119 comments With our carry over letters, if we don't use them this week, we can still use them in a future week right?


message 123: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments Turtlecollector wrote: "With our carry over letters, if we don't use them this week, we can still use them in a future week right?"

Yes. Once you pay your cupcakes to "carry over," they are yours until you use them.


message 124: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments More on BANKING & BLANK TILES:
When you "bank" a book it may be used in the future for a specific tile/letter you may get in the future - or use the tile/letter with which it went into the bank.

Example: In other words, if you read a "D" title, you may read Deception that week. However, you may use the "banked" book in future weeks as "S" for Series Name: Southern Comfort #3, or "L" or "O" for Author's Name, etc. When you do this, however, you don't save the "D" for use later. Poof! It is gone.

You are essentially banking both the book and the corresponding tile, but the tile has conditions on it.

Why are we clarifying this? Because the issue that blank tiles raise.

QUESTION: "SQ, when do we have to decide what letter our blank tile will be?"

When you post it, if you post it in the current week in which you received it.

If you want to "bank" it as a read book, you also need to decide what letters apply to it that apply to that read book. Even though it is like a "wild card" book you are banking, you have the tile to use in the future, too. So, all letters needs to be designated at "banking" time (Title, Author, Series Name, Characters).

Or you may "carry over" the blank tile (as unread) as a blank tile and decide later (no book attached). If you 'cash in' some cupcakes.



message 125: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (last edited Aug 17, 2014 09:59AM) (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments "Christina wrote: "... because in Scrabble there is only 1 Z tile per game."

"Scrabble Queen's Reply: "Christina, I'm NOT keeping track of the number of letters that have been dealt out. I thought of it, but it was just one more thing to do."

Update: Thanks to Christina, I am now keeping track of the number of letters that have been dealt out. Ugh.

Of course, I doubled the number, as there are two boards.

Note: If a letter is not played, "banked," or "carried over," it is put back into circulation.


message 126: by Christina T (new)

Christina T (crysteena73) | 164 comments Scrabble Queen wrote: "Update: Thanks to Christina, I am now keeping track of the number of letters that have been dealt out. Ugh. "

Sorry SQ....didn't mean to make more work for you in a game that is extremely hands on for you mods.


message 127: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments Christina wrote: "Sorry SQ....didn't mean to make more work for you in a game that is extremely hands on for you mods."

Don't worry about it, Christina. It wasn't anything that wasn't already haunting me anyway. :o)


message 128: by Christina T (new)

Christina T (crysteena73) | 164 comments Just out of curiosity, how are you handling the banked books that start out as one letter and become another?


message 129: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments Christina wrote: "Just out of curiosity, how are you handling the banked books that start out as one letter and become another?"



We Mods have been discussing this, and unless you choose a category twice, you can't use the limegreen tiles for the "banked" books.

If you look at the spreadsheet, you'll see that the Lexicologists were able to used their "N" title from Naked in Death because they had a "N" character, Nadine Furst. (Plus, they used one of their regular tiles.) But we understand not everyone will be able to do so.

Therefore, you may use those limegreen tiles with the category they went in with (Title, Author's Name, Series Name, Character Name), if you cash in three (3) cupcakes.


message 130: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments

Your Week #4 Racks have been posted in Weekly Tiles on Your Rack thread. Your “carry over” tiles/letters and “banked” books will be updated after play on Saturday; either late Sunday or early Monday.


message 131: by Logan (new)

Logan (loganturner) | 136 comments Can we cash in cupcakes for a tile and then use a banked book for that tile the next week?


message 132: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments I don't understand your question - but then, I'm in the thick of things right now, Logan. Sorry.


message 133: by Logan (new)

Logan (loganturner) | 136 comments You don't need to answer me right now, lol!

If we got a letter this week that one of our banked books fits, but we didn't use that letter this week, can I cash in cupcakes to carry that letter over to next week and use the banked book then?


message 134: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments Still not reading carefully, but if you have a limegreen tile and you want to use it, you may cash it in at the time you do use it - for 3 cupcakes.

Does that answer your question?


message 135: by Logan (new)

Logan (loganturner) | 136 comments Oh, okay. I think I get it now. We can use a lime green tile, even if we didn't get that same letter in our weekly tiles, for a cost of 3 cupcakes?

So if I have a green tile A, but this week I don't have that in my 7 tiles, I can use the green A for 3 cupcakes, in other words?


message 136: by Turtlecollector Dennis (last edited Aug 23, 2014 07:07PM) (new)

Turtlecollector Dennis | 119 comments Logan wrote: "You don't need to answer me right now, lol!

If we got a letter this week that one of our banked books fits, but we didn't use that letter this week, can I cash in cupcakes to carry that letter ov..."


Yes, we did that this week with our S book. We 'cupcaked' our S from last week. Then this week we put one of our banked books for it. The 'cupcaked' tile is just like one of the regular tiles given that week I am assuming. Since you can use banked books with them, you should be able to use them with your 'cupcaked' tiles. Those didn't have any books attached to them when they were transferred to the next week.

I think this is what you meant.


message 137: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments Logan wrote: "So if I have a green tile A, but this week I don't have that [an "A"] in my 7 tiles, I can use the green A for 3 cupcakes, in other words?"

Correct.


message 138: by Logan (new)

Logan (loganturner) | 136 comments Thanks to you both. Turtlecollector, that's exactly what I was trying to say, just not quite as elegantly as you did. :) Though it appears by using Scrabble Queen's method I can accomplish the same thing by using fewer cupcakes.


message 139: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments Yup.


Turtlecollector Dennis | 119 comments If we place a letter on a bonus square and it creates two words, does that bonus count for both words?


message 141: by Isha (new)

Isha | 170 comments Turtlecollector wrote: "If we place a letter on a bonus square and it creates two words, does that bonus count for both words?"

SQ said premium squares only count once here


message 142: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (last edited Aug 24, 2014 02:25PM) (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments Turtlecollector wrote: "If we place a letter on a bonus square and it creates two words, does that bonus count for both words?"

Yes. A play that covers two DWS is doubled then re-doubled (i.e. the score for the word is 4 times its face value) and is sometimes referred to as a “double-double.” Similarly, a play covering two TWS is tripled then re-tripled ("triple-triple.").

For example, if the words “po” and “fee” were on the board, and a Team used the tile “D” to turn them both simultaneously into “pod” and “feed” -- and the placement was on double or triple word score, both words would be multiplied.


message 143: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments Nikita wrote: "SQ said premium squares only count once here..."

True, Nikita. Premium squares apply only when newly placed tiles cover them. Any subsequent plays do not count those premium squares. However, Turtlecollector is asking about when a tile is used to make two words at the same time, and that tile lands on a premium square. See example above.


Turtlecollector Dennis | 119 comments Yes, that's what I meant. Thanks.


message 145: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments Sure.


message 146: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments

Your Week #5 Racks have been posted in Weekly Tiles on Your Rack thread. Your “cupcaked” tiles/letters and “banked” books will be updated after play on Saturday; either late Sunday or early Monday.


message 147: by Dancing Queen, Special Projects: Team Challenges (last edited Aug 29, 2014 07:11PM) (new)

Dancing Queen RLftCI | 678 comments
For those of you wanting a quick, at-a-glace look at what Categories your Team has used, here is the info. It may also be found on the last page of the Scrabble Points Points Spreadsheet.




message 148: by Lisa Kay, Moderator (new)

Lisa Kay (lisakayalicemaria) | 20787 comments That is as of the end of Week #3.


message 149: by AerinLuvs (new)

AerinLuvs (anniluvs) | 42 comments I know that Captain Cupcake is OOT right now, but is there a link to where each team's total available cupcakes are? I thought I saw it somewhere...Thanks!


message 150: by Phoenix (Online Elf), Moderator (last edited Aug 30, 2014 10:25PM) (new)

Phoenix (Online Elf) | 4358 comments Here is the link to the spreadsheet . It might not be up-to-date.


back to top